Insanity!!

Published January 11, 2013 by djajk

I’m starting the year off on the right foot…doing insanity! I’ve done it before and I can say that it does work but you can’t stop after the 60 days because of course, you’ll go back to your old habits and your tummy will follow. The most exciting part about doing Insanity this time is that my 10-year-old son is doing it with me. This is our first week and he has been so consistent, I thought he was going to give up after the fit test, [I wanted to do that] but NO! Every evening at 6pm he’s ready to go. I couldn’t be prouder, there are grown people who are afraid of doing insanity and here he is going at it. He’s learning the moves and the stretches, he’s getting there. He’s a pretty active kid, doing martial arts and playing basketball but he feels that he needs to have a workout to improve his health and his body. I don’t know if this is about improving his appearance because he’s getting older and is starting to worry about those things but whatever the reason may be I couldn’t be happier, not just for what exercise will do to his body, but what working out together is doing for our relationship. Joshua and I don’t always have the best connection I know we can have, me being a single mom and he being the oldest of 3, struggle to make this work. He is a great kid, always helping me out in whatever I need, but at the same time he’s always ready to have a battle with me, whether it’s about taking out the trash, doing homework, you name it, he’s ready to argue and I play into that most of the time. One of my goals as a mother is to be more patient with my children and not play into their attitude on things sometimes, not feed off of their own reactions. It’s hard, but I know that it’s not impossible. I want to be the mom that has a calm conversation with her kids about what they did and how the things they do affect them and the people around them not be the mom that yells right away, and unfortunately the stress of raising and financially supporting 3 kids on my own sometimes takes over and I’m quick to get upset. Which, I believe is not a good thing because I don’t want my kids to hide things from me. But, I digress, this post is about Insanity and I think this is what Josh and I need right now to form a different bond with each other, and improve our health at the same time.

Leave a Reply

